The History of Albany House
Built by Joshua Wood around 1908, this restored three-story home features imported French tile in the foyer and natural oak woodwork throughout. Using the latest technology of that era, the house is constructed with sculptured concrete blocks manufactured on site and laid on a poured concrete foundation. A variety of forms are used to create fascinating patterns that add architectural interest. During construction the family lived in a small outbuilding that is still standing.
In 1987 the house was converted into the first bed and breakfast in Green County. The extensive renovation included adding five bathrooms, finishing the third floor and completing the insulation of exterior walls. While remodeling the house, care was taken to maintain the integrity and charm of this turn-of-the-century house. The tile and hardwood floors, the natural woodwork, and the pocket doors were returned to their original condition.
Situated prominently on three acres, Albany House is surrounded by mature black walnut and maple trees. A wide variety of perennials and roses add to the beauty. A large barn at the rear of the property completes the rural feeling.